Halo Wars 2


Revealed at Microsoft’s Gamescom 2015 press conference, Halo Wars 2 is the sequel to Halo Wars developed by Creative Assembly, most notable for their work on the Total War series. The game is being developed for the Xbox One and Windows 10, set to release in February 2017, and supports Xbox Play Anywhere.

Ultimate Edition

Halo Wars 2: Ultimate Edition includes the game’s Season Pass as well as Halo Wars: Definitive Edition. It was released four days before the Standard Edition of the game (February 17th 2017 instead of February 21st).

Blitz Mode

First introduced in a Halo Wars 2 Beta, Blitz Mode is a card-based multiplayer mode where players contest for control points in a traditional RTS manner; however, base building is eliminated and instead players spend energy to spawn units or abilities from their current hand of cards. Players earn card packs by leveling up or can purchase card packs through the in game store. Each of the six choosable leaders (three covenant, three UNSC) offer leader-specific cards as well as different starting armies.

Unit Types

Not counting Blitz-specific unit versions, the following units either return or are introduced for the first time to the Halo Universe (marked with an asterisk):

  • Marines
  • Hellbringers
  • ODSTs
  • Sniper*
  • Spartan
  • Cyclops*
  • Jackrabbit*
  • Warthog
  • Wolverine
  • Kodiak*
  • Scorpion
  • Grizzly
  • Hornet
  • Nightingale*
  • Vulture
  • Condor*
  • Grunts
  • Suicide grunts
  • Elite rangers
  • Jump pack brutes
  • Hunters
  • Honor Guard
  • Warlord
  • Atriox’s Chosen*
  • Chopper
  • Ghost
  • Marauder
  • Reaver*
  • Locust
  • Wraith
  • Scarab
  • Engineer
  • Banshee
  • Shroud*
  • Blisterback*
  • Aggressor Sentinel
  • Protector Sentinel*
  • Retriever Sentinel

Leave a Comment